Home > college basketball, poll, Sports > CBS Sports Bloggers’ Blogpoll, Week 4

CBS Sports Bloggers’ Blogpoll, Week 4

March 2, 2009

[Note: the poll has a mistake – I didn’t mean to have Butler so high. Disregard their ranking. It’s a technical error owing to having a couple of windows open and fat, tired fingers. A total error. I apologize.]

I’ve been thinking on this thing I have had against putting North Carolina at #1. Yes, the loss to Boston College was not good. A road loss to a very good Wake Forest team, not so great. A (road loss) to the Maryland Terrapins was a red flag. But that was an overtime loss, away, in a tough place to play. I don’t know that I am calling up my bookie and telling him to bet my non-existent savings on North Carolina, but consider this:

– I watch U Conn and I really think they lack that ability to crush hearts. Perhaps I am trying to envision them as the Khalid El-Amin/ Rip Hamilton/ Jake Voskuhl Huskies or the Caron Butler/ Emeka Okafor (was Ben Gordon on that squad?) and I see the Josh Boone/ Marcus Williams/ Rudy Gay Huskies. To quote Eminem, “your style is like dying in my sleep/ I don’t feel it.”

Oklahoma did lose a game.

– What is Pittsburgh when DeJuan Blair is in foul trouble? Or if he no longer gets the Hansbrough rules, i.e., if he no longer gets some curious non-calls?

Here is my ballot… take a look, disagree freely (but respectfully, and disregard the Butler accident), and some more notes are after the poll.

Rank Team Delta
1 North Carolina 3
2 Connecticut 1
3 Oklahoma 1
4 Pittsburgh 3
5 Louisville
6 Duke
7 Kansas 11
8 Michigan St. 3
9 Wake Forest 1
10 Memphis 2
11 Villanova 4
12 Butler
13 Washington 1
14 UCLA 5
15 Clemson 5
16 Missouri 3
17 Marquette 8
18 Xavier 4
19 Illinois 4
20 Louisiana St. 1
21 Purdue 5
22 Gonzaga 2
23 Arizona St. 6
24 Florida St.
25 Brigham Young
Last week’s ballot

Dropped Out: West Virginia (#23), Utah (#24), Arizona (#25).

Notes:

+ I think Villanova should be better than losing to Georgetown at home. Dude. Protect the home court. Honestly, letting DePaul get close raised an eyebrow for me.

+ I have to drop teams that lost twice in a week. Marquette doesn’t deserve the heavy drop, but I like a number of teams better than them, especially without Dominic James. Clemson… that was a surprise. Arizona State had a rough time in scenic Washington State.

+ Big Ten: I just don’t think Ohio State is that good, so beating the tar out of them isn’t doing it for me.

+ Kansas had two HUUUUGE wins last week. Much respect and a 10 point Alison Stokke poll jump.

+ I should have Utah in at 25, just below Bring ‘Em Young – I mean Brigham Young. Yeah, that’s my error. Whoopsie.

