Home > college basketball, recruits, Sports > Tyshawn Taylor to Kansas

Tyshawn Taylor to Kansas

April 29, 2008

It’s official, Taylor has committed to Kansas and will hear the Rock, Chalk, Jayhawk:

“I’m the only player who can say he’s going from the high school national championship team to the college championship team. I think it’s pretty cool I can say that,” Taylor said Tuesday after orally committing to KU over Georgia Tech.

That is pretty cool. Look at this recruiting class:

2008 KU recruiting class

Tyshawn Taylor – 6-3, 160, G, Jersey City, N.J. (St. Anthony’s HS)

Tyrone Appleton – 6-3, 195, G, Gary, Ind. (Harmony Prep/Midland (Texas) College)

Mario Little – 6-5, 210, G/F, Chicago, Ill. (Washington HS/Chipola (Fla.) CC)

Marcus Morris – 6-8 1/2, 220, F, Philadelphia, Pa. (Prep Charter HS/APEX Academy (N.J.))

Markieff Morris – 6-10, 230, F/C, Philadelphia, Pa. (Prep Charter HS/APEX Academy (N.J.))

Travis Releford – 6-5, G/F, Roeland Park, Kan. (Roeland Park Miege HS)

Quintrell Thomas – 6-8, 235, F, Elizabeth, N.J. (Saint Patrick HS)

Two Jersey City players, two Philly players (granted, they are twins); I hope in a year’s time some more of these players come to Queens. Though really, I can see why players and students want to leave home for a little bit and join a champion…

  1. DaManKU
    May 15, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Nice piece! I was born and raised in Lawrence, Kansas and both my parents are KU alumni. We moved to NJ when I was 13 and been here for 20 years. After I graduated from Rutgers, moved to Jersey City and caught a lot of St. Anthony games. It would be huge for KU to establish a recruiting pipeline with Hurley, Sr.

    Obviously when Norm Roberts accepted the head coaching position at St. John’s, I became a big fan of the Red Storm. I always loved the Action Jackson and Mullin teams in the glory days of the Big East. If they can get commitments from top tri-state players, they can build the program around those guys and reestablish the University as a premier destination for local prospects.

  2. DaManKU
    May 15, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Apologies for double post… I found this page while searching for content on Tyshawn Taylor. I can’t believe he is not a top 25 hamburger all american guy.

  3. picodulce
    May 16, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I saw a couple of Tyshawn Taylor’s games on TV. And I think he has some flaws – I didn’t see him take many outside shots and he could be a better passer. But his pure speed is something SICK.

    Glad to hear someone’s a fan of the Storm. And I’ve noticed that there’s some affection from Kansas fans towards Norm Roberts (more than NY fans have towards him it seems). Right now they’re not going to get those players unless next year’s team shows that they can hang with the powers of the conference – meaning fewer blowouts, a few wins against the tough teams, a better-than-.500 record… then those players will start to come.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

